Sivas

We can go as far back as 2000 BC with the encrypted sources in Sivas, but we know that the first settlement goes back to 4500 BC. They found some works pertaining to this period from the surveys held in the tumulus in the vicinity. The discovery of Hittite civilization in the city added new data to the known history. The city later enjoyed Roman, Byzantine and Seljuk periods.

Sivas was the second city after Erzurum, where Mustafa Kemal and his friends held their second congress before the Republic. They made important decisions for Turkey under invasion. The rooms the congress was held in and Mustafa Kemal stayed for about 3.5 months have been opened as the Ataturk Museum of Congress and Ethnography in 1990 for the interest of the visitors.

It is known that the Sivas Fortress was built at the time of Byzantine Emperor Justinianus and that it was twice restored by Danismendogullari. The fortress was completely demolished by Timur’s armies in 1400, today we have some of its traces only. Sivas Museum was first opened in the Gök Medresseh and then was transported in 1968 to Büruciye Medresseh. It has three halls where the archaeological and the ethnographical works are displayed. And in the Ali Baba Quarter is another museum; İsmet İnönü Museum of Ethnography. İsmet İnönü lived in that house when he was a child. The house of famous bard Aşık Veysel, born in Sivas, was made a museum in 1982.

Medressehs, Mosques

Ulu Cami (1197) was repaired in 1955. It is the church mosque on the Osmanpaşa Caddesi. It was made a mosque from church in 1584. The Kale Mosque (1574) in Kale Mahallesi, the new modern turbeh made in the place of the demolished Kadi Burhanettin Turbeh, the İzzettin Keykavus Turbeh (built 1217, repaired 1933) are worth to be visited. The Gök Medresseh, a Seljuk work, was built in 1271. It is impressing with its tile decorations and marble fountain. The Çifte Minareli Medresseh, with its front face and the minarets and with its beautifully decorated Royal Gate (1271), is now arranged as an open-air museum. This magnificent piece of Seljuk architecture is like a symbol of Sivas. The Şifaiye Medresseh (1217) in the Selçuklu Park is considered as the largest and oldest of the Anatolian Seljuk Medicine Schools and Hospitals. The Buruciye Medresseh (1271) built in the Seljuk time has been one of the important medressehs where positive sciences are taught for many long years. It is considered one of the best species of Seljuk stone works. We can count Güdük Minare (1347), Behrampaşa Hanı (1573), Ali Baba Camisi (1786), Ali Ağa Camisi (1580), Abdulvahap Gazi Türbesi (1497), Ahi Emir Ahmet Türbesi (1319), Seyyit Paşa Camisi (1819), Şeyh Çoban Türbesi (1370) and Şemsettin Sivasi Türbesi (1600) among the Turkish-lslam works of art.

Hot Springs

There are many hot springs around Sivas. Alaman Köyü Kaplıcası (21-km to Şarkışla), Balıklı Çermik Kaplıcası (14-km north of Kangal), Çermik Kaplıcaları (10-km away Suşehri) and Sıcak Çermik Kaplıcaları (10-km to Yıldızeli) are the main ones to count.

Balıklı Kaplıca: It is 13-km away from Kangal District. It is an attractive one with its fish in its 36- 37 degreeshot thermal water. These fish are considered good for dermal diseases and acne treatment. They gine you a relaxing massage effect. The place is open all year round.

Divriği

Divriği, 164-km from Sivas, is famous with its iron ore mines. UNESCO has taken Divriği, known as Tephrike in the Byzantine times, in the World Culture Heritage list in 1985. Its Ulu Cami and Darüşşifa, Kale Camisi (restored in 1180), Sitte Melik Tumulus (dated 1 193) and two-storey historical houses should be visited.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *