It is thought that this name Niğde is derived from the ancient names Nahita or Nikita. Niğde is a valley between mountains. The surrounding mountains are suitable for winter sports but there are no facilities. Demirkazık in the Camardi District is a popular climbing track for the mountaineers.

They have mountain lodges in Demirkazık Village for over-night stays. Niğde, one of the largest and the most important cities of the XIII century Anatolia, is now housing a number of Seljuk and Ottoman relics.

Niğde Kalesi (Castle)

The castle was built by the Seljuks in early XIII century. A large part of the castle was collapsed and the north tower was being used as a jailhouse until the foundation of the republic The towers on the east and the castle gate on the south of the Alaaddin Tepesi are on their feet today. There are the Rahmaniye Mosque and the Alaaddin Mosque (1223) on the south. The Sungur Bey Mosque (Ulu Cami) on the southwest skirts of Alaaddin Tepesi was built in 1335. The Hüdavent Hatun Tomb was built in 1312. The Dış Mosque is situated on the west skirts of Alaaddin Tepesi, built in early XIV century.

Archaeological Museum

A nun’s mummy found in the Ihlara Valley is very interesting besides its Hittite, Roman and Byzantine works.

Rock Monasteries

Your ads will be inserted here by

Easy Plugin for AdSense.

Please go to the plugin admin page to
Paste your ad code OR
Suppress this ad slot.

The Byzantine work Rock Monastery in the Gümüşler Town is well preserved. The natural cave in the Değirmenli Town can be visited in under the illumination provided by the municipal. But the excavation and cleaning works are not completed yet. An underground settlement has been discovered in Kavlaktepe where one can find access via Değirmenli road. Two storeys are brought up to light and excavations to bring the other sections of the settlement up too continue. The Keçikalesi (Goats Castle) Village of Altinhisar District at the skirts of Hasandağı gets its name from the castle on the top.

Golludag (Lake mountain)

Göllüdağ is between the Bozköy and Kömürcü Villages 20-km to the north of the city. There are Hittite ruins. There is also a crater lake in the area surrounded by the walls. In the ruins are some streets, houses and a 1 10-m x 260-m building thought to be a palace or a temple.

Some Roman aqueducts are found too. The 1.5- km long aqueducts found in Kemerhisar District are made of cut stone and understood that they were bringing water to the city from distance.

Tyana (Tuvanvua)

The ruins of a Hittite city of Tuvanvua are found in Kemerhisar, 10-km south of Bor District. It is understood that the city was there in Hellenistic, Persian, Roman and Byzantine periods. 1.5- km long Roman aqueducts can be visited in the ruins named as “Kizhisar” or as “Kilisehisar” by the public.

Hot Springs

One can make use of hot springs near Niğde city like; Çiftehan, Kemerhisar, Kocapinar and Kokaksu.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *