Corum

corum_turkey_

Corum has been inhabited continuously for 7000 years of history. History of King s Road” and “Silk Road passes through the territory. This is the first time in the historical process in Anatolia, the Hittites established organize state. Co rum, the capital Hattusha (Bogazkale), Alacahoyuk, archaeological sites, such as the Sapinuva, with a culture rich in archaeological artifacts due to an open-air museum. Corum, in Central Black Sea region and the interior at the climate of the Black Sea region of Central Anatolia is located in the climate transition. This land for thousands of years has been the cradle of many civilizations. Corum, of which coincides with the presence of many cultures from the present day. Every village, every town is a burial mound, a tumulus, a cemetery, or is likely to find a settlement. History of BC history in chronological order Since 3000 Urban Principalities, Hittite, Frig, Persia, Galatian, Hellenistic, the Pontic Kingdom, Byzantium, Danishmend, Seljuk and Ottoman periods Emirates and as always had an important center.

 

PLACES TO VISIT

HISTORICAL BUILDINGS

o CORUM MUNICIPAL BUILDING
o CORUM CLOCK TOWER
o CORUM MUSEUM
o ULU MOSOUE
o HIDIRLIK MOSOUE
o VELİ PASHA HAN (INN)
o İSTİKLAL SCHOOL
o ALİ PASHA’S BATH
o PASHA’S BATH
o CORUM CASTLE
o SUNGURLU CLOCK TOWER
o VELİ PASHA MANSION
o OSMANCIK CASTLE
o İSKİLİP CASTLE
o KOYUNBABA BRIDGE
o KOYUNBABA MAUSOLEUM
o OSMANCIK İMARET MOSOUE
o BALTACI MEHMET PASHA FOUNTAIN
o ELVANCELEBİ MAUSOLEUM
o MENZİL HAN (INN) AND HACI HAM ZA BATH
o İSKİLİP GREAT MOSOUE
o İSKİLİP SHEIK YAVSİ MOSOUE

ARCHAEOLOGICAL SITES

o ALACAHÖYÜK MUSEUM AND RUINS
o THE OLDEST PEACE TREATY
o KYBELE EMBOSSING
o BOĞAZKALE HATTUSHA
o YAZI LİKAYA
o ORTAKÖY ŞAPİNUVA

o KAPIUKAYA MANOMENTAL ROCK-HEWN TOMBS
o İSKİLİP ROCK HEWN TOMBS

NATURAL BEAUTY

o İNCESU CANYON
o KARGI UPLAND
o ABDULLAH UPLAND

 

 

HISTORICAL BUILDINGS

CORUM MUNICIPAL BUILDING
It was started to be built as a National Library by the Library Building Special Construction Commission in 1923, and it was opened on 3 August 1925. Previously, the top floor was partly
used as a National Library and the other part of it was allocated for exhibition room for museum pieces, meeting room for teachers’ association, study rooms for European and Turkish music. At the
down floor there was an Ottoman Bank and private workplaces. The library was transferred to the down floor in 1938 and the top floor was completely used as a Community Center. Since 1960 Revolution, the building is used as municipal building.

CORUM CLOCK TOWER

The tower was built by Besiktas Guardian Corumlu Yedi Sekiz Hasan Pasha in 1894 upon the firman of the Ottoman Sultan Abdulhamit II. which he sent on the anniversary of his passing to throne. The administrative statute of Corum was advanced from county to sanjak in the same year. It is 27,5 m high. An epigraph of the same date is written in Ottoman Turkish on the marble surface on the round arched door of the castle opening to south.

 

CORUM MUSEUM

According to the epigraph which says,
“The Hospital of General Diseases
was constructed in December 1332,
by the donations of the Hamiyet Merdan family of the Corum Sanjak,
and the contributions of the State-Charitable Foundations.

The museum building which was built as a hospital in 1914, later used as Agriculture School, Health School, Art School, Trade School, Machine College and Ataturk High School, carrying the typical architectural characteristic of the 19th century, and registered as “Real Cultural Estate to be Protected” was damaged in a fire in 1988. The repair activities started in 1989 and the building was reopened on 11.03.2003 as the New Corum Museum.

 

 

ULU MOSQUE
The mosque was built during the time of Seljuk Sultan Alaattin Keykubat III. by Hayrettin who was the freed slave of him. It was ruined due to a big earthquake during the time of Bayezid II, and if was repaired by Mimar Sinan. He (April 15, 1489 – July 17, 1588) was the chief Ottoman architect for Sultan Selim I, Suleyman I, Selim II and Murad III He was during a period of fifty years, responsible for the construction or the supervision of every major building in the Ottoman Empire. Murat IV. stopped over Corum-Bogacik Village while he was going for Yerevan Expedition. During this time, the
mosque was one more time repaired; and madrasahs and rented out properties were built around it. At the time the mosque was named as Sultan Muradi Rabi Mosque. The mosque which was again ruined in 1790 earthquake started to be repaired by Yozgatli Capanoglu Suleyman Bey in 1802 with nine domes in conformity with its original; but due to his death it was built with a single wooden dome by his son Abdulfettah I in 1810. The pulpit of the mosque is important for the history of art. It was constructed from ebony free with kündekari technique in 1306.

 

HIDIRLIK MOSQUE

It is located in Corum Hidirlik district. Reputedly, it was built by Hidiroglu Hayrettin in 7889 upon the request of Yedi Sekiz Hasan Pasha (Seven Eight Hasan Pasha) during the reign of Sultan Abdulhamit II. As a reverence to Suheybi Rumi who was one among the companions of Prophet Mohammed (peace be upon him) and the people who served for him. The date of building of the mosque which used to be located here and destroyed due to an earthquake is unknown. The tombs of Suheybi Rumi and Ubeyd (Ubid) Ghazi, who are companions of the Prophet Mohammed (peace be upon him), are situated inside the mosque, and the tomb of Kerebi Ghazi is situated in the garden on the left side of the mosque.

 

VELI PASHA HAN (Inn)

The Veli Pasha Inn, built in Cepni quarter upon the order of Veli Pasha, was burn down in a fire in 1914 and was re-built in 1915-16. The two-storey Han is 1000 m2. With its 35 rooms, the building was used as a hotel for many years. Today, it is being run as a market.

 

ISTIKLAL SCHOOL

Istiklal School was built by Governor Nurettin Bey in the period between 1913-1915. Name at that time of this build “Majidi School”. This build was re-named as “Istiklal School” in after a period of republic.

 

ALI PASHA’S BATH

The clock tower is next to the baths of the city’s largest bath. Ali Pasha’s Bath was built in 1573 by Ali Pasha, a bey from Erzurum. The Bath is still working.

 

PASHA’S BATH
Pasha’s Bath was built in 1573 by Tacettin Pasha Bin Hacı Bey in period of Ottoman. The Bath is still working.

CORUM CASTLE

The First written documents belonging to the Corum Castle, which is situated in the city center and carries the architectural characteristics of the Seljuk Period, dates back to 1571 A.C. The castle is referred as “Sultan Suleyman’s Donation” on one of the documents of the date 1577 A.C. Evliya Celebi (March 25, 1611-1682) was the most famous Ottoman traveler, having journeyed throughout the territories of The Ottoman Empire and the neighboring lands over a period said that the castle in the southern part of the city was built by Sultan Kilic Arslan in Seljuk Empire period. The collected stones from the Roma Byzantine periods were also used in the construction of the square shape castle. There are four towers in total each of them in corner of the castle and two rectangular asperities of each side of the castle. There are three asperities on the northern side including the door. There is a small mosque and forty two houses in the castle.
SUNGURLU CLOCK TOWER

Date was built in 1891 and is a square prism body. Round-arched windows on each floor except the
second floor include a small. Cut on the top floor of the tower made of stone, floating wood fringed mansion then in four directions at the bottom of a round clock and a balcony are barred at the bottom.

 

VELI PASHA MANSION

The Veli Pasha mansion was built by Sevket Bey, son of Veil Pasha in 1923-24. It is in the city center. As a fine example of typical Corum mansion, the mansion completes the historic pattern of the town.
OSMANCIK (KANDIBER) CASTLE

It is built on the north side of Kizilirmak, on the natural rock cliffs which lie in east-west direction. It is understood from some sources and the rock tombs of the Roman period in the south of the castle that the construction of the castle, which is dated to the Seljuk period, actually started in the Roman period. The waterway carved into the rock and running down from the castle to Kizilirmak technically shows the characteristics of the Roman period. The castle was on the Istanbul-Amasya trade route (Silk Road) during the Islamic period.

 

ISKILIP CASTLE

The castle located in the city center and dating back to the Ottoman Period was built on a 100 m high natural rock. The entry into the castle is through the southern door of the castle. There are rock tombs of the Roman period on the skirts of the where the castle stands.

 

KOYUNBABA BRIDGE

Koyunbaba Bridge which stands on Kizilirmak was constructed during the time of Bayezid II. The construction started in 1484 and completed in 1489. The bridge whose length is 250 m and width is 7,5 m is made of yellow hewn stone with rectangular sections. It has a pointed arch and 19 holes. The bridge was named after one of the famous Turkish saints, Koyunbaba. The epigraph on the bridge is written with Arabic letters. The epigraph tells about the constructer of the bridge, but it does not in form about the architecture of it.

 

KOYUNBABA MAUSOLEUM

It was constructed during the reign of Sultan Beyazit II. in 1469. An arcaded entry of two parts is attached to the main conical building in the octagon mausoleum. The construction which is on a hill is situated on a side within a big garden. There is a writing of two lines on the two-color marble door of the garden. The two-wing wooden door of the mausoleum which is carved with deep engraving technique is today preserved in Corum.

 

OSMANCIK IMARET MOSQUE

It was built as an Imaret in 1431 by Koca Mehmet Pasha who was one of the head viziers of Murat II. It reflects the plan of the mosques with dervish lodges which is one of the characteristic structures of the Early Ottoman Period.

 

BALTACI MEHMET PASHA FOUNTAIN

It is the only standing fountain of the four fountains which were constructed in 1705 during the first grand viziership of Baltaci Mehmet Pasha. There is an epigraph of 18 lines on the three white marble columns on the front side of it which faces the west.

 

ELVANCELEBi MAUSOLEUM

It is a typical Turkish structure with its dome in the middle, water- I tank with a fountain and side sheds. The roof of the mosque was made of wood and soil in 1555. due to the baroques influences it was repaired to a great extent after 1750 and coated with its present ceiling cover it has a pew with arches of baroque profile which is placed on thin wooden columns, The arches and the engravings on the ceiling dates back to the end of 18th century and beginning of 19th century. It writes 1282-3 on the epigraph of the mosque and 1307 on the epigraph of the mausoleum.

Your ads will be inserted here by

Easy Plugin for AdSense.

Please go to the plugin admin page to
Paste your ad code OR
Suppress this ad slot.

 

MENZIL INN AND HACIHAMZA BATH

The inn was built by I Sinan Pasha during 1506-1507. It is a rectangular structure, constructed by bricks on stones, in the inner part arches support the roof in the same year; Sinan Pasha also built a Turkish bath. This bath, which was constructed from face stone and rubble stone, consists of three parts: cold area, warm area and hot area.

 

ISKILIP GREAT MOSQUE

The mosque which was modeled after the Great Mosque in Corum, dates back to 7839, the late Ottoman Period. Inside the mosque you can find Cufic scripts. The minaret constructed of stone is a remain of the former mosque found there.

 

ISKILIP SHEIKH MUHIDDIN YAVSI MOSQUE

It is Iskilip’s oldest mosque. It was built during the reign of Kanuni Sultan Suleyman in mid-16th century, financed by Ebusuud, who was shayk-al-lslam, in the name of his father Sheikh Yaysi. According to the foundation-certificate charter written on 1569, the mosque is part of an Islamic social complex, consisting of a bridge, a covered bazaar, a school and an inn. However there are no remains of this social complex. The mosque resembles a reverse “T” planned monastery, and in the southeast direction, the mausoleum of Sheikh Yavsi can be found.

 

 

ARCHAEOLOGICAL SITES

 

ALACAHOYUK MUSEUM and RUINS

The Alacahoyuk Museum which operates under the administration of the Corum Museum is located 45 km. away from Corum and 160 km away from Ankara. In the museum findings from the Alacahoyuk excavations, dating back to Chalcolithic, Early Bronze, Hittite and Phrygian ages and other ethnographic items are being exhibited. In the excavations conducted in Alacahoyuk, which was a religion and art center in the Early Bronze age and Hittite era, four different civilization periods were revealed. The systematic excavations of the old Anatolian settlements, which serve as the basis of Hittite culture, were initiated at the behest of Mustafa Kemal Ataturk. In 1935, the excavations were started by Turkish Historical Society. In addition to the Hittite culture, another very rich culture, namely the Haiti culture, which is regarded the ancestors and origins of the Hittites, unearthed in Alacahoyuk.

 

 

THE OLDEST PEACE TREATY

“Kadesh Treaty”, signed between the Hittites and Egyptians two very important civilizations of the world history was unearthed in the excavations in Bogazkoy in 1906. The treaty was carved on clay tablets. Today, a copy of the Kadesh Treaty – “world’s oldest international peace treaty” concluded between these two old and rich civilizations is being exhibited in the New York office of UN.

 

KYBELE EMBOSSING

There is an embossing of a goddess (Cybele) on the rocks, 1.5m above the river bed, on the left, parallel to the flow direction of the water, at a 1 km distance from the Incesu village. The Goddess built on a rock block faces the Scylax River that runs in front of it and the castle that stands on the high rocks. The Goddess deemed to be sitting on a throne holds a young lion in his left hand.

The belief of a mother goddess in Anatolia emerged in Neolithic Age in 9000 B.C. it has been observed in Chalcolithic and Ancient Bronze Age works that the cult of mother goddess having connotations such as blessings, fruitfulness and fertility continues in these periods as well as the Neolithic Age. The cult of mother goddess existing in 2000 B.C. including the Hittite period was named as Kubaba during the Late Hittite period, as Cybele during the Phrygian and Hellenistic periods.

 

BOGAZKALE – HATTUSA

Egypt Babel, Mitanni and Hittite… The superpowers of the Antique East… Until 1200s BC, the Hittites ruled over most parts of Anatolia and from time to time to Northern Syria. Hattusa, the capital city of this important civilization remains in Bogazkale district, 80 km southwest of Corum. The excavation studies initiated in region, which was registered as a “Historic National Park” in 1988, is still being conducted today by “German Archaeology Institute”.

 

YAZILIKAYA

As Hattusa, the capital city of Hittites in Bogazkale, was registered in the “World’s culture Heritage List” of UNESCO, the district was draws special attention. Clearly the largest and most impressive spot of Hattusa is the Yazilikaya Temple, hidden among high rocks. The temple, which has god and goddess figures in relief forms on it, was especially used for “new year celebrations”.

 

ORTAKOY – SAPINUVA

Sapinuva-Ortakoy is located in southeast, 53 km far from Corum. It was one of the important administrative centers of the Hittite Empire. The city, which was located on a strategic point owing to its both political and geographical location, is an important military and religious center. A letter about Sapinuva written by the great king was found in the Tokat Masat Hoyuk excavations. In this letter king says, “When you receive this tablet, promptly dispatch the 1701 soldiers from Ishupitta, and bring them to Sapinuva city before the Majesty in two days. ” it was understood from this statement that this Hittite city was an important administrative center.

 

KAPILIKAYA MANOMENTAL ROCK-HEWN TOMBS

Lays on a rugged land, dose to Kirkdilim district on the Corum- Osmancik highway; on the right-hand side. It is a rock tomb of the Hellenistic period dating back to 2nd century B.C. It writes “IKEZIOS” on the door of the tomb’s room. The room of the tomb is in square shape, and there are dead’s secchis carved a niche on the right and left sides of the entrance.

 

ISKILIP ROCK-HEWN TOMBS

The Iskilip Rock-hewn tombs lay on the south and southeast skirts of the Iskilip Fortress, built on a 100m-high rock during the Ottoman reign. The tombs are dated back to Roman age. The rock-hewn tomb on the south has a two-columned entrance.

 

 

NATURAL BEAUTY

 

INCESU CANYON

Located in the Incesu village of the Ortakoy District, the Incesu Canyon has only one entrance and exit. The Canyon offers a suitable environment for rafting and trekking sports. The width of the 12.5-km-long canyon varies between 40 to 60 meters. The Canyon, which is being mainly used for rafting when the water flow is strong enough, also has a trekking route to be used on other times. The natural beauty on this trekking route strikes the visitors.

 

KARGI UPLAND

It is located on the high mountainous region in the north of Kargi district; it is 140 km far from Corum and 26 km far from Kargi. There are many uplands in this region such as Eginonu, Aksu, Karandu, Gol, Orencik, Karaboya, Gokcedogan which are connected with each other. The tradition of building upland houses in conformity with the local upland architecture stilt continues in these uplands. It is like a natural masterpiece with its local vegetation, ample water resources and salmon fish breeded in Aksu and Gokcedogan ponds.

 

ABDULLAH UPLAND

It is located in Kargi district on Kose Mountain (2050 m) which is the highest mountain of Corum, it is 114 km far from Co rum and 26 km far from the district center, it is 12 km far from the highway which connects Istanbul to Samsun and passes from Osmancik. It is one of our uplands which worth to stop over for its clean and ample water resources, unspoilt nature and local plant species such as scotch pine and black pine, it has an accommodation unit, restaurant and picnic site.

 

DISHES OF CORUM

Corum is very rich in terms of local food. Native of the province between meals Mayalı, (Sac Mayalisi, Tava Mayalisi), Yanic, Cizlak, Kombe, Ogmac, Hingal, Poppy with Bun, Borhani (with the dough, Eggs, Mushrooms) to Helise, Cullama, Madimak, Tirit, Iskilip Dolmasi, Keskek, Karacuval Helvasi, Hedik, Teltel, Has Baklava can be considered.
WHAT TO BUY FROM CORUM?
LEBLEBI

WOOD CARVING PRODUCTS

STONE CARVING PRODUCTS

COPPER ORNAMENTS

COPPER HOUSEWARE

HITITE FIGURES ORNAMENTS

RICE

HAND MADE SOCKS

HAND MADE KILIMS

SADDLE (ORNAMENTS)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *