With its cultural assets, natural beauties, historic richness and Mount Nemrut, in the UNESCO World Cultural Heritage List, Adıyaman is a must see.
Adıyaman is a province located in the South-East Anatolian region. It is at an elevation of 669 metres above sea-level. It is surrounded by Diyarbakir to the east, Şanlıurfa and Gaziantep to the south, Kahramanmaraş to the west and Malatya to the north. It has nine administrative districts, including the central one, and extends over an area of 7,614 km2.
One of Turkey’s most important rivers, Fırat (the Euphrates), along with many other large and small rivers, drain the province. The exceptional Ataturk Dam Lake, one of the 6 largest dam lakes in the world, is within the boundaries of the province.
Adıyaman is one of the oldest known areas of human settlement and its history is thought to stretch back to 40,000 BC.
According to historical findings, during the Palaeolithic Period (up to 7,000 BC), the Neolithic Period (7,000-5,000 BC) and the Chalcolithic Period (5,000-3,000 BC) control of the province past between various different groups. From the Bronze Age (3,000-1,200 BC) Adıyaman was controlled by a long list of civilizations, including the Hittites, the Assyrians (900-700 BC), the Phrygians (750-600 BC), the Persians (600-334 BC), the Macedonians (334-69 BC), the Commagene Kingdom (69 BC- 72 AD), the Romans (72-395), the Byzantines (395-670), the Umayyads (670-758), the Abbasids (758-926), the Hamdanis (926-958), and the Byzantines again (958-1114). Between 1114 and 1181 the region was exposed to Turkish raids. The region also experienced the sovereignties of the Eyyubis (1114-1204), the Seljuk Turks (1204-1298), the Mongols (1230-1250), the Mamluks (1298-1393), the Turkish Principalities (1393-1516) and the Ottomans (from 1516 until the establishment of the Turkish Republic).
Adıyaman became an Ottoman administrative district in 1841 under an Ottoman sub-governor. In 1849 it was administratively attached to the province of Diyarbakir as a sanjak and the districts of Besni, Siverek and Kahta became part of Adıyaman.
In the year 1859 Adıyaman was returned to the status of a district. It remained a district until 1954 when it was affirmed as a province by Law no. 6418, dated 1/12/1954, due to its new social, cultural and economic situation.
Adıyaman has been the stage for a variety of civilizations and is the location for many of the most culturally important cities. Its rich cultural heritage includes local clothing, wedding ceremonies, traditions, hospitality and the most beautiful handicraft products such as carpets, kilims, cicims and saddle bags.
Adıyaman is also known to the world for its legends, folk dances and songs. Adıyaman’s folk dances, which are an expression of the province’s rich cultural heritage stretching back thousands of years, won the world first prize.
MOUNT NEMRUT RUINS
The ruins of Mount Nemrut are 87 km from the dty centre, or 77 km via the Arsameia ancient road, and 53 km from Kahta district. The amazing tumulus is found on a peak in the East Taurus mountain range, above the Firat River valley and grassy plateaux, within the boundaries of Karadut village in
Located on a magnificent pyramid at an altitude of2,206 metres above sea-level are the enchanting 10-metre high statues and long inscriptions which appear on the UNESCO World Cultural Heritage List. Here there is the tumulus formed by pilling gravel on the monumental tomb of the Commagene King Antiochos I. On the terraces surrounding the tumulus there is a Fire Altar, huge Greco- Persian statues and steles decorated with base reliefs. Climbing to the Mt. Nemrut makes possible to discover the Commagene Civilization and the secrets of the gigantic statues that have been watching the most beautiful sunrise and sunset views for 2,000 years.
The Commagene, which means the “community of genes”, was a powerful kingdom in which Greek and Persian beliefs, culture and traditions were united.
Commagene was established as an independent kingdom by Mithradates Kallinikos I at the beginning of the 1st Century BC during a civil war which terminated the Seleucid line. The kingdom rose to prominence during the reign of Antiochos Epiphanes (62-32 BC), Mithradates Kallinikos’ son. Antiochos Mithradates D was next to inherit the throne. The Commagene Kingdom was absorbed into the neighbouring Roman province of Syria by Emperor Vespasian in 72 AD.
DISCOVERY OF MOUNT NEMRUT
The monuments on the summit of Mount Nemrut were firstly mentioned in 1881 by Karl Sester, a German engineer working on the roads in Diyarbakir. He wrongly guessed that they were of Assyrian origin.
Karl Sester gave information to the Royal Institute, which sent a research team to the area led by the young academic, Otto Punchtein. The team worked on the summit tumulus and the huge statues and base reliefs on the terraces to the east and west of the tumulus.
The Greek inscriptions on these remains were eventually translated by Punchstein, revealing that they belonged to the Commagene Kingdom of Antiochos I. The inscriptions revealed the secrets of Mount Nemrut and the Antiochos’ code of laws.
Later, the research work on Mount Nemrut was continued by German engineer Karl Humann and Osman Hamdi Bey, who established the Istanbul Archaeological Museum. They were followed by American archaeologists Theresa Goel and Friedrich Karl Domer from 1953 to 1980s and by Karl Domer’s student Sencer şahin from 1986. The work on Mount Nemrut that was revealing the Commagene Civilization to the world was also continuing in Arsameia, Samsat and the Fuat basin. The moveable artefacts that were discovered during the excavations in the province are displayed in the Adıyaman Museum, with the rest protected within the National Park.
The summit tumulus is located in the middle of the eastern, western and northern terraces. It was originally 55 m high, but is now 50 m high. It is 150 m in diameter and is made up of 30,000 m3 of gravel. It is revealed in the inscriptions of King Antiochos that this is a monumental tomb.
NEMRUT SACRED AREA (HEEROTHESION)
The sacred area is reached via a staircase carved into the bedrock. In this area are found 10 metre high statues sitting on thrones, facing directly towards the sunrise, and on either side a gallery of ancestors and an altar.
On either side of the row of Gods there is a Lion statue which is the symbol of and the protector of the country and it represents the Commagene Kingdom’s control of the world and the Commagene’s terrestrial power. There is also the protector eagle statue which is the symbol of the king of the gods, Zeus. It has holy significance and is another symbol for the country. The Eagle is also the messenger of the Gods and represents the power of the sky. First in the row of Gods is the statue of the Commagene King Antiochos I.
Direcdy opposite the thrones is a square shaped Fire Altar with steps leading up it. This is where fires were lit and offerings made to the Gods, while the lion statue sitting beside is for protection.
The Commagene King Antiochos I’s father was of Persian descent and mother was of Macedonian descent. This synthesis of cultures and religious beliefs is represented in the sacred site on top of the highest peak.
Behind the thrones, direcdy beside the statue of King Antiochos, is the statue of Commagene Tyche, Goddess of Abundance, which gives its name to the country. Known in Latin as Fortuna, worship of the Goddess became widespread in the Hellenistic period when it replaced the other Gods in importance. It is also known as the Goddess of fete and chance. The depictions of pomegranates and grapes on the head of Goddess represent abundance and productivity. likewise, the fruit in the Goddess’ lap represent productivity.
Zeus-Oromasdes is the God of Gods and the God of the sky. The God personifies all the strength of nature in relation to the sky. He is the sovereign of light, brightness, clouds, thunder, lightning and storms. He sits on the throne as the leader of the gods in Olympos. After he took the sceptre made by his son, Hephaistos, God of the Blacksmiths, he became father of all the people and gods. The sceptre symbolized the kingdom’s strength and whoever owned it had the authority. For this reason the king believed that he was fathered and brought up by Zeus. The divine eagle is responsible for delivering the orders of Zeus to man.
Zeus and Leto, daughter of Titan, gave birth to Apollo, who was an Anatolian god. This god represents moderate, calm and deliberate power, the ability to become a light and to see nature, looking for existence with the mind and the ability and the power to shape systems with the power of the mind.
Hercules was the son of the God Zeus and the mortal Alcmene. He symbolizes man’s belligerence towards nature and the strength of endurance. All his deeds are for good and they are useful for people by ending the disasters and the evil that nature visits on man. Hera wouldn’t stop chasing Hercules, who is the son of Zeus’ other woman, as she hated him and held a grudge against him since birth. Hera encourages Herculestodovery difficult tasks due to the grudge she holds against him. He demonstrated his bravery at the age of 18 for the first time by killing the lion Nemea with the stick that can be seen in his hand in the statue on the east side of the terrace. The twelve difficult tasks are completed successfully by the power of his hands and the stick in his hand. Hercules, who is the symbol of bravery and physical and moral power, was worshipped as a hero and a god.
On the north and south sides of the terrace there are engraved steles of the Commagene royal family.
Behind the thrones is a 237 line inscription which is a last testament concerning religion and social issues from King Antiochos. The testament mentions that as a pious king his beliefs have kept him safe from major dangers, hopeless situations have been overcome and he has lived a long and happy life. This area was made as a home for the Gods and the testament says their statues and his statue, which is built with the same stone and is located next to the row of gods, were constructed to gain him the infinite respect of the most powerful gods.
According to the inscription, the 10th day of the month of Loos, which is the day the of the King’s coronation, and the 16th day of the month of Audnaios, which is the King’s birthday, were official holidays and at these times sacrificial ceremonies were meant to be performed for the Gods. It says in the inscription that these duties are required in order to fulfil your religious obligations and these religious deeds are easy to perform and the result of being unholy is suffering. Local people and foreign residents were received in a thoughtful manner by the people on duty and, without feeling like they were being watched, they were encouraged to enjoy the feast and eat and drink as much as they wanted to.
This sacred area was devoted to praying and banquets, and the musicians were protected by King Antiochos. No other activities were permitted in this area. It is written in the inscriptions that the king wished to show respect to all the gods and ancestors by showing interest and praying to all the gods of Persia, Macedonia and Commagene. He ends his will by promising that the gods and the deceased ancestors will protect with their prayers the kings who follow the laws and worship. It also ends by stating that all kinds of evil will befall the people that disobey and act disrespectfully towards the gods.
The eastern terrace of Mount Nemrut is one of the world’s best places to watch the sunrise. Those that watch the sunrise cannot fail to be deeply affected by the sight. The best time to watch is between the months of April and October.
This 180 m long terrace is a ceremonial road between the eastern and western terraces. On the terrace are unfinished steles and columns.
The statues of the Gods on thrones on the Eastern Terrace are also found here. This terrace also has engraved steles which belonged to the Persian and Macedonian royal families.
Engraved onto the stele are representations of King Antiochos I shaking hands with the Goddess Commagene Tyche, Apollo Mithras, Zeus Oromasdes and Hercules Artagnes.
An image of a lion walking to the right is inscribed on a 2 metre high, 2.5 metre wide block. This is about astrology and is known to be the oldest horoscope. There are stars on the body of the lion which has a crescent on its neck. On top there are three big stars which are the symbols of Mars, Jupiter, and Venus. Archaeologists and astrologists have conducted a lot of research to learn about the real history of this horoscope, which was written 2000 years ago. The Lion horoscope bas relief, which is about astrology, includes the date 7 July 62 BC, which is the date of King Antiochos’s enthronement.
It is possible to watch the spectacular view of the sunset and to enjoy the beautiful views of the sky from the west terrace.
HOW TO GET TO MOUNT NEMRUT?
Sheltering the stunningly beautiful statues, besides the views of the tumulus it is also known as one of the world’s best places to watch the sunrise and sunset and leaves visitors filled with admiration. The best time to visit Mount Nemrut is between April and October.
The road to Mount Nemrut is paved until the village of Karadut, after which point it is cobbled. The most common way to visit is on an organised tour. Private vehicles can also be rented from Adıyaman and Kahta to make the tour.
There are three variations of the Mount Nemrut tour: the Long Tour, the Short Tour and the Normal Tour.
The Long Tour: The tour leaves Adıyaman at 2 am in order to be at the summit for sunrise. After watching the sunrise, visitors are taken to Arsameia, Yeni Kale (New Castle), Cendere Bridge and the Karakuş Tumulus before returning to Adıyaman. It takes about 5-6 hours. For sunset, the tour leaves Adıyaman at 2 p.m. and Kahta at 2.30 p.m.
The Short Tour: This tour only includes Mount Nemrut itself.
It takes about 4-4.5 hours.
The Normal Tour: This tour does not include the sunrise or sunset. Generally, tours leave in the morning but any time of day is suitable. People with vehicles that are suitable for the ascent can do the tour on their own.
Arsameia, which was the centre of the Commagene Kingdom’s administration in the summer months, is located in the district of Kahta between the villages of Kocahisar and Damlacik, on the east banks of the Kahta Creek (Nymphaios). Next to the many carved statues and steles that lie along the southern ceremonial road is Anatolia’s largest ancient inscription in Greek. Near the inscription is a sacred corridor with 150 steps cut into the rock and above it are the remains of a palace.
ANCIENT CITIES AND SETTLEMENTS
ANCIENT CITY OF PERRE AND ROCK TOMBS
This site is located in the Orenli (Pirin) neighbourhood of the city centre. It is one of the five largest cities of the Commagene Kingdom. It was a much frequented resort between the capital, Samosata (Samsat), and Melitene (Malatya). Ancient Roman sources talk about the quality of the water from the local springs and it was a rest-stop used by caravans, travellers and soldiers.
This famed water still flows from the Roman fountain. The city maintained its importance during the Byzantine Period and it became a centre for Christianity, sending a representative to the Council of Nicaea.
The ancient city’s most striking ruins are the rock tombs at the entrance to the Orenli neighbourhood. The tombs are rooms that have been chiselled from the rock and they make an amazing sight.
THE RUINS OF OLD BESNİ
These ruins are 45 km from Adıyaman city centre and 1 km from Besni. On either side of the entrance to the ruins are Ottoman buildings, mosques, Turkish baths and bridges. The site was first occupied in Hittite times.
ÜÇGÖZ (SOFRAZ) CITY RUINS
This site is located 15 km south east of Besni. It is known that there was another city named Külşehri (lit. ash city) around it. The old buildings in the site include the Hasan Paşa and Mustafa Paşa mosques and the Öksüz Minaret.
DERIK SANCTUARY (HEROON)
This sanctuary is 10 km north of Cendere Bridge in Sincik district. There is a vaulted tomb, two temples and a temenos at the site.
This tumulus is located in Uggoz (Sofraz) which is 45 km from Adıyaman city centre and 15 km from Besni. The 15 metre high tumulus is covered with gravel and rubble. The sepulchral chamber is found along a passageway or Dromos, 5 metres below the southern entrance. There is another tumulus to the south of this one. Beneath this tumulus there is a vaulted sepulchral chamber made of cut stones and three other sepulchral chambers chiselled from the bed rock. In these chambers there are sarcophagi.
DİKİLİTAŞ (SESONK) TUMULUS
This burial mound is on Kizildag Mountain in the village of Zormagara in the district of Besni. 5-6 metre high tumulus is made of stones and surrounded by columns.
This tumulus is located on Karadag mountain, 5 km north of Adıyaman city centre. The rock tomb in the tumulus consists of two parts. This site also offers a view of the city and the Atatürk Dam Lake.
This site is situated in the village of Ilicak which is 25 km from Adıyaman city centre. It is made up of piled stones and has 6 tombs.
Located 43 km to the east of Adıyaman, this 21 metre high gravel tumulus is a monumental tomb. There are four 9 metre high columns on the north and west sides of the tumulus. On the columns, there are bull, lion and eagle statues and a relief depicting shaking hands. This tomb belongs to one of the Commagene royal family.
HAYDARAN ROCK TOMBS AND INSCRIPTION
These rock tombs are found in the village of Taşgedik, 17 km north of Adıyaman. In addition to the rock tombs there is a relief depicting the Sun God Helios shaking hands with King Antiochos.
TURUŞ ROCK TOMBS
These tombs, which are rooms cut from the bedrock, are located in the village of Kuyulu (Turuş).
MALPINARI ROCK INSCRIPTION
35 km from Adıyaman in the village of Durak is the Malpman Rock Inscription. Dating back to the Late Hittite Period, the hieroglyphic inscription carved into rock gives us information about the settlements. It gets its name from a spring beside it.
ADIYAMAN CASTLE (HISN-I MANSUR CASTLE)
Located in the centre of Adıyaman, this castle is set on a 25 metre high mound. The castle was previously known as Hisn-i Mansur Castle.
This castle is in Kocahisar village in Kahta district. Originally built during the Commagene Kingdom, the existing remains mostly date from the Mamluk Period. Inside the castle are Turkish baths, a mosque, water reservoirs and a secret waterway that descends to the Kahta Creek (Nymphaios). There is also a tower used for training messenger pigeons.
GERGER CASTLE (ARSAMEIA ON THE EUPHRATES)
This castle is situated in Oymakli village in the district of Geiger. Surrounded by strong walls it was built on steep rocks. Its history stretches far back to the Late Hittite Period. In the 2nd century BC it was named ‘Arsameia on the Euphrates’. There is a huge relief of Samos, father of Mitridathes Kalliniochos (140 -100 B.C.) on a large rock. The castle which was also used served in the Islamic Period includes a mosque, shops and water cisterns.
The castle overlooks the beautiful view of the Atatürk Dam Lake.
This castle is located on a mountain 5 km south of Besni. It was first built during the Hittite times and the monumental entrance towers and the other ruins can be visited. There is an inscription with the name Malik el-Aşraf on the castle’s south tower.
In 1982 the museum was moved to its own dedicated building and since this date it has been open to the public. In addition to the archaeological artefacts, there are local cultural artefacts on display. The museum’s displays include flint stones, hand axes, digging and cutting tools from the Palaeolithic Period; flint stones and obsidian arrows from the Neolithic Period; various fired earthenware pots from the Chalcolithic Period; bronze spearheads and similar objects from the Bronze Age; hieroglyphics, various kitchen pots and decorative items from the Iron Age; statues, mosaics, tablets and decorative pots from the Hellenistic Period; statues, tablets, mosaics, oil lamps, perfume bottles, various pots and decorative items from the Roman Period; a selection of pots and decorative items from the Byzantine Period; glazed pots, glass objects and decorative items from the Islamic and particularly the Seljuk Period and various artefacts from the Ottoman Period.
Ethnographic artefacts on display include local carpets, kilims, ddrns and similar hand-woven cloths, men’s and women’s clothes, silver jewellery and brass kitchen implements.
In addition to this, examples of gold, silver and bronze coins from the Classical, Hellenistic,
Roman, Byzantine, Islamic, Seljuk and Ottoman periods can be seen on display.
The museum is open every day except Monday.
CENDERE BRIDGE (ROMAN BRIDGE)
The Cendere Bridge was built to cross the Cendere Creek (Cabinas) between Kahta and Sincik districts. The bridge has two arches. Still in use today, it was built by the 16th Legion who garrisoned in Samsat in the reign of the Roman Emperor Septimus Severus. The columns on the bridge were devoted to Emperor Septimus Severus, his wife Julia Domna, and his sons, Caracalla and Geta. The column devoted to Geta was removed by his brother, Carracalla, after he had murdered him. The bridge is a fantastic example of monumental Roman architecture.
This bridge with four arches, including one large arch, is located in Yolbag village in the district of Golbaşi. The bridge’s right side sits on rocks, while the arches of the left side sit on the riverbed. The arches are made from white cut stone and the other parts are built from rubble. The bridge belongs to the Islamic period.
This bridge is between the villages of Gümüşkaya and Kizilin in the district of Besni. It dates
from the Roman Period and it resembles the Cendere Bridge.
ULU (GREAT) MOSQUE
This mosque is found in the city centre. It was built in the time of the Dulkadirogulları dynasty (1137-1522) and has been repaired many times since.
An inscription on the column of the minaret dates the building to 1863. According to another inscription on an arch below the building was repaired in 1902.
Close to the Oturakçi Bazaar in the city centre, the mosque was built by Haci Abdulgani in 1550. It has a rectangular plan and its walls supported by buttresses are of cut stone.
The Eskisaray Mosque is located in the Eskisaray neighbourhood in the city centre and was built by Ibrahim Pasha in 1639. It has been repaired many times, and the last time it was expanded to the north.
The Kab Mosque gives its name to the surrounding neighbourhood and according to an inscription it was built in 1768, and rebuilt in 1923 by Haci Mehmet Ali.
CHURCH OF ST. PETER AND ST. PAUL
This church is located in Merkez Mara neighbourhood. It is understood from its inscription dated 1905 that the building is quite old. Called as St. Peter Church, it is still used by the local Siiryani (Syrian Orthodox) congregation.
ULU (GREAT) MOSQUE
This mosque is located within the site of the Besni ruins to the south of Toktamiş peak. An inscription on the minaret dates the building to the 17th century.
KURŞUNLU (LEAD) MOSQUE
The mosque is at the entrance to the old Besni archaeological site. The square building was built by Haci Zeyrek Pasha from cut stones and it has two pointed arches in its prayer hall. The mosque, which was built in Ottoman times, gets its name from the lead which used to cover the building.
This mosque is located in the centre of old Besni. It is said that the building was built by Haci Arslan but the inscription on the building identifies the builder as Kalsunoglu Mehmet Nasir.
TOMB OF ABUZER GAFFAR-I
This tomb is 5 km east of Adıyaman in Ziyaret village. The inscription on the door dates the tomb to 1136 according to the Islamic calendar. The tomb was built by Murat IV on his return from a campaign in Baghdad.
TOMB OF MAHMUT EL-ENSARİ
This tomb is located 7 km east of Adıyaman on Ali Mountain. The inscription on the wall informs that the tomb was restored in 1126 according to the Islamic Calendar.
TOMB OF ŞEYH ABDURRAHMAN ERZİNCAN-I
This tomb is situated 7 km north of Adıyaman in the village of Indere. The tomb contains the sarcophagi of Sheikh Abdurrahman Erzincan-i, his wife and daughter, who were originally from Erzincan but later moved to Adıyaman.
TOMB OF SAHABE SAFVAN BIN MUATTAL
This tomb is found 8 km north of Samsat town near the village of Taşkuyu. According to historic records, Safvan Bin Muattal, one of the companions of the Prophet Muhammed, went to fight at the battle of Yermük and was martyred when he reached Samsat.
Situated 7 km from Adıyaman and close to Indere (Zey) village, this cave was inhabited during the early Christian period.
40 km south east of the city centre on the banks of the Goksu River and in the west of the Gümüşkaya village, there are many tunnel shaped caves connected to each other. Thought to be dated back to 150 B.C. these caves were carved out of rock.
This cave is located 10 km north of Adıyaman, on the left side of the Adıyaman Çelikhan-Malatya Highway. It is a natural cave which was used in the Paleolithic Period (40.000 BC).
ÇELİKHAN VALI HAUL ISIK SPRING
Çelikhan Spring is next to the £at Dam, 23 km north east of the Çelikhan district. The spring water is thought to be curative for digestive system disorders and kidney stones.
This curative spring is 6 km north east of Besni village, on the Adıyaman-Besni Road. The spring water is thought to be beneficial for kidney stones, constipation and stomach inflammation.
Located 25 km northwest of Adıyaman, 5 km from Akgali village, the spring is thought to be curative.
Adıyaman province is quite rich in places to visit on daily excursions. Protected by the North East Taurus mountain range, it is possible to come across many excursion places, particularly in the northern part of the province.
There is easy transport to these excursion spots at any time of day from the city centre. People can enjoy relaxing in the tranquil atmosphere of these spots surrounded by natural beauties.
Located in Kahta district, 1 km from the village of Kocahisar, and reached by a stabilized road, this creek valley is very beautiful on account of its natural surroundings. This recreation area with water flowing over the rocks, trees, green areas and historic places is well worth seeing.
Located 2 km to the north of Adıyaman, this pine forested area has been arranged as a recreation area by the National Parks General Management.
Located on the Adiyaman-Kahta road, 5 km from Adıyaman, the banks of the Ziyaret Creek have been planted with trees and the area is ideal for day trips by the bridge.
DEĞİRMEN CREEK (SU GOZU)
Approximately 10 km to the south of Eski Besni is the Sofraz Creek’s spring. Running water, trees and steep rocks make it a beautiful place. Local people use it as a spot for excursions and picnics.
GOLBAŞI LAKE & ITS VICINITY
This lake gives its name to the district of Golbaşi and the district lies directly on its shores. In wet seasons it is joined to nearby Azapli and İnekli lakes by natural channels. These lakes are officially protected areas and the surrounding facilities and the natural beauty of the area is well worth seeing.
OTHER RECREATIONAL AREAS
All Mountain Area
Bogazonü Kalburcu Creek
Cendere Creek Natural Canyon
Karadut Village and Its Vicinity
Çelikhan Recep Creek
Çelikhan Pınarbaşı (Bulam) Creek
Çelikhan Nevzat Bey Spring
Degirmençayi (Old Besni) Power Station
Tut Şepker Creek
Degirmenlik Area along the Goksu River (Golbaşi-Malatya Road)
In Turkey, a gene centre of many plants, Adıyaman province has a rich variety.
Tulip, hyacinth, daffodil, snowdrop, crocus, salep orchid, iris, Imperial Crown tulip (Fritilaria imperialis), Persian Fritillary (Fritillaria persica) and other flowering plants are very interesting due to their colour and shape. Because of their early season blooms, their ease of cultivation and production these plants are one of the most commonly used traditional plants in gardens and parks in various countries around the world.
Amongst the endemic plants of the province are bulb, tuber and rhizome plants.
ADIYAMAN TULIP (Fritilaria Persica L)
As a decoration and pharmaceutical plant, Adıyaman Tulip has a significant place. Growing in several mountainous regions of the world, this tulip grows in Adıyaman province, and its Central, Sincik and Gerger districts in Turkey. It has purple blooms which appear during its flowering season, from April to May.
THE ATATURK DAM
Adıyaman’s rich historic and beautiful natural attractions are now joined by one of the 6 largest dam lakes in the world, the Ataturk Dam. The reservoir is 61% in the Adıyaman region and is 3 km from Adıyaman. The dam was built on the Firat River. The Ataturk Dam is the most important element of the GAP project. The flooded area can be viewed from the 2206 metre high summit of Mount Nemrut. The area covered by the reservoir and the amount of energy produced by the dam together make this an amazingly valuable work.
The reservoir created by the Ataturk Dam and the projects concluded after have given the region a new dimension. These changes, which are felt in every area, have created the most excitement with the Ataturk Dam Water Sports Races, which have been organized since 1995. Every year in September these national and international water sports races are organized by the Adıyaman Governorship, the GAP Area Development Administration, the Turkish Olympic Committee, the State Water Authority General Management, the Youth and Sports General Management and the şanliurfa Governorship’s Organization. The events include swimming, water skiing, windsurfing, underwater sports, sailing, rowing and canoeing.
These races are of great importance in diversifying and adding interest to the tourism of the province and region.
THE OTURAKÇI BAZAAR
This historic market is located in Adıyaman town centre and specializes in carpets, kilims, cicims, bags, saddlebags and other similar handicrafts which may be of interest to tourists.
Meat is the main ingredient in most of Adıyaman dishes. Cooking local dishes, which reflect both the cultural richness of Adıyaman and the interaction with neighbouring cities, requires long time and labour.
The main way to get around the province is by road. Train and air routes are also available. Train access is via the Golbaşi district with trains passing on the line between Elazig and Adana. There are ferry services in Giizelsu village of Gerger district across the Ataturk reservoir. Adıyaman Airport is open to all flights.
* International Nemrut-Conunagene Festival, 25-27June
Organizer: Kahta District Governorship – Kahta Municipality
* Education and Culture Festival, September
Organizer: Besni District Governorship – Besni Municipality – Besni Education Foundation
* Zerban Festival, 20 July
Organizer: Pınarbaşı Municipality
IMPORTANT TELEPHONE NUMBERS
|POLICE EMERGENCY||155 —————–|
|82. YIL STATE HOSPITAL||+9041622708 64|
|KAHTA STATE HOSPITAL||+90 416 725 50 66-67|
|BESNl STATE HOSPITAL||+9041631810 67|
|GOIBASI STATE HOSPITAL||+904167816133|